sweetsantuary

Green Lantern Shines Bright

Posted on: November 26, 2011

“In brightest day. In blackest night. No evil shall escape my sight. Let those who worship evil’s might. Beware my power. Green Lantern’s light.”

These words are spoken by the Green Lantern Corps, the intergalactic police force whose job is to protect the universe. Each Green Lantern are assigned a sector and empowered by a ring that allows the wielder to create anything from mere thought. Green Lantern Abin Sur (Temuera Morrison), a purple alien from Sector 2814 crash lands on Earth after a nasty encounter from Parallax (Clancy Brown), an evil  being that feeds on fear. The dying Abin Sur commands his ring to find a worthy successor.

The ring choose Hal Jordan (Ryan Reynolds), a test pilot for Ferris Aircraft. Soon Hal is transported to the planet Oa, home of the Green Lantern Corps, where he goes through boot camp. Hal is not only the newest recruit  but the first human to ever wield the ring. While fellow Lantern Tomar-Re (Geoffrey Rush), a  fish like alien, who believes that the ring chose him for a reason, other Lanterns like Kilowog (Michael Clarke Duncan), Hal’s drill sergeant and Sinestro (Mark Strong), Abin Sur’s old student and Hal’s mentor, believe that Hal isn’t fit to be a Green Lantern because he is afraid. So he quits but keeps the ring.

Parallax wasn’t the only bad guy Hal had to deal with. There was Dr. Hector Hammond (Peter Sarsgaard), a scientist who was asked by his father Senator Robert Hammond (Tim Robbins) to do the autopsy on Abin Sur’s body. A piece of Parallax injects itself into Hammond, causing his head to double in size and giving him telepathic and telekinetic abilities, which drives him insane. It also doesn’t help that the creepy doctor is obsessed with Hal’s love interest Carol Ferris (Blake Lively).

Hal gets some encouragement from Carol, he goes back to Oa and the Guardians asking them to help him save his planet. You see, throughout the movie Hal acted like he wasn’t a afraid of anything but he really was, and that was the problem. He wouldn’t admit it.   That was the same problem with the Green Lantern Corps. They were so arrogant thinking wearing those rings they found in a Cracker Jack box made them gods.

If you guys are so bad ass, why are loosing?

No matter what species you are, human or alien, there’s always something to be afraid of. But once you admit it, you can overcome it.

I remember attending the Green Lantern panel last year at Comic Con International in San Diego. The boy standing behind me asked Ryan how did it feel saying the Green Lantern oath. Ryan not only said the oath for the boy, but he also gave the kid his Green Lantern ring, the very same ring he wore in the movie. That was just so sweet! Ryan really made that kid’s day.

I recommend this movie to anyone who loves comic book flicks.

3 Responses to "Green Lantern Shines Bright"

It took me time to learn all the comments, but I honestly loved the blog. It proved to be very advantageous to me and I’m positive to all of the followers here!

Everyone I know hates this movie. I am the only one who enjoyed it. I’ve been a die hard GL fan since I was 12, and this was a great adaptation of the series.

I thought the movie was good too, and it’s not because of the cool superpowers. I know a good story when I see one. I hate that people can’t look beyond the surface and see a movies true worth.

Leave a Reply

  • Matthew: My 13 year old daughter was banging on about how brilliant this new show was so to humor her I watched the pilot. I'm now completely hooked - so wheth
  • the vow movie full: Appreciating the hard work you put into your website and in depth information you provide. It's nice to come across a blog every once in a while t
  • Tammy: I loved that movie! I was a little frustrated with paige after she kissed jeramy. Leo loved her so much that he was willing to let her go. I'm glad sh

Categories

