sweetsantuary

Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows part 2: It All Ends

Posted on: June 6, 2012

On July 15, 2011 thousands upon thousands of Harry Potter fans went to the nearest movie theater and to wait in line for the midnight showing of Harry Potter and The Deathly Hallows Part 2, the eighth and final movie in the film series. I was one of the many Potterheads out that night. I was rocking the Gryffindor colors, complete with tie. I even wrote “I Must Not Tell Lies” on my hand for added effect. It was amazing being among my fellow Potterheads. I saw people dressed like Harry Potter, Death Eaters, Bellatrix Lestrange and other characters from the books we all know and love.

And for some weird reason I saw this one guy dressed as Spider Man. Wrong franchise, dude!

You know I almost missed the midnight showing because one of my friends forgot to get me a ticket, which was a completely misunderstanding. I was like “NNNNNOOOOOO!!!”

Despite not having a ticket I decided to stay in hopes that maybe, just maybe, someone wouldn’t show up to claim their ticket. There are many things in this world you must never deny me of, Harry Potter is one of them.

I tried to keep my spirits up by talking to my friends and talking to the other Potterheads in line. It was the nice to meet other people that share my love for the series. I also tried singing. I sang this Harry Potter themed song that I found on youtube and I thought it was pretty good.

“I never thought you’d be in my life

To different worlds that we let collide

and it will never be the way it was before

Cause baby I’m a Slytherin and girl you are a Gryffindor”

Everyone enjoyed it but time was running out. So in a last ditch effort I prayed, Lord did I pray, that I would get in to see this movie. I mean, sure I could have see it the next day but for hardcore Potter fans like myself, I wanted to be with the rest of Potterheads experiencing the magic one last time.

And I did! When I asked them if they had a tickets available for the midnight showing one last time, they said, YES! Thank you god! It was a Harry Potter miracle!

So there I sat in the first row, ready to watch the eight and final movie in the Harry Potter series. After two hours I came to a conclusion.

Deathly Hallows part 2 wasn’t awesome… no…  IT WAS FUCKING AWESOME!!!!

Deathly Hallows is my favorite out of all the Harry Potter books but to actually see it come to life on the big screen was absolutely amazing.

To recap, the movie picks up from where we left off where Harry (Daniel Radcliffe), Ron (Rupert Grint) and Hermione (Emma Watson) just escape from Malfoy Manor and are hiding out at Shell Cottage with Ron’s brother, Bill (Domhnall Gleeson) and his wife Fleur (Celemence Poesy). With the help of Griphook the Goblin (Warwick Davis) they plan on sneaking into Gringotts (wizard bank) so they can break into Bellatrix Lestrange’s (Helena Bonham Carter), where they believe they’ll find one of Voldemort’s Horcruxes.

Ever since Harry found out that he was a wizard on his 11th birthday, he had to deal with a lot even by normal wizard standards. While most wizard kids had to worry about casting the right spell for class the next day, Harry was constantly watching his back because an evil wizard wanted him dead. But luckily he had his friends to watch his back and he managed to defeat The Dark Lord.

I had so many favorite scenes:

-Aftery years of waiting Ron and Hermione final kiss. Thank you! Seriously, took them long enough.

-Molly Weasley fighting Bellatrix and saying “NOT MY DAUGHTER, YOU BITCH!” I love that line! That was also in the book and I was so happy they put it in the film.

-The part where Neville Longbottom (Matthew Lewis) blew up the bridge. Also when he gave that big speech and killed the snake with the Sword of Gryffindor. Neville has come a long way since the Sorcerer’s Stone. He used to be a shy and clumsy but the boy grew up to be a fucking bad ass! And the fact that he drew the sword out of the Sorting Hat just proves that he’s a true Gryffindor. I also liked that the writers added that Neville had a thing for Luna Lovegood (Evanna Lynch). I always thought they would make a cute couple.

-Professor McGonagall (Maggie Smith) did the Piertotum Locomotor spell and made all the statues at Hogwarts come to life. “I always wanted to use that spell.” LOL!

-I loved it when Harry talked to the Grey Lady (Kelly Macdonald), the ghost of Ravenclaw. As much as I wanted to see the Ravenclaw Common Room, it would have taken to long. I love Kelly Macdonald in Boardwalk Empire.

-Nineteen years later, Harry and Ginny (Bonnie Wright) are married with three kids: James Sirius, Albus Severus, and Lily Luna Potter. Ron and Hermione are married with two kids: Rose and Hugo Weasley. And their off to see young Al and Rose off for their first year at Hogwarts. I wish they had the other kids say a few lines though, not just Al.

I know they couldn’t put everything from the book into the movies but  I wish they explained a bit better for those who haven’t read the books.

Warning Spoilers! (For those who haven’t read the books or seen the movies yet, turn back now.)

1. The Life and Lies of Albus Dumbledore: Okay, in the Deathly Hallows Part 1, they hinted that Dumbledore wasn’t the Saint were lead to believe, that he had a few skeletons in his closet, like the thing with Gellert Grindelwald and his brother. Here’s the whole story (again, if you don’t want to know, don’t read this part). 

Albus Dumbledore (Michael Gambon) was the eldest son of Percival and Kendra, and the elder brother of Aberforth and Ariana. When his sister was six, she was attacked by a group Muggle boys who saw her practicing magic. Ariana was unable to do the trick again so they violently assaulted her. The attack left her emotionally scarred and unable to control her magic. Percival killed the boys out of revenge and was sentenced to life in Azkaban.

Soon Kendra moved the family to Godric’s Hollow and keep Ariana secluded from the outside, knowing that she would be sent to St. Mungo’s if her condition was discovered. Most people didn’t know that the Dumbledores had a daugther. Those who did know about her wondered why she didn’t attend Hogwarts. Some believed her to be a Squib (someone born into a magicial family but doesn’t have any magicial powers).

Ariana was a sweet girl but when she couldn’t control her magic, she became slighty dangerous. When she was fourteen she had one of her episodes. Usually her favorite brother Aberforth would be able to calm her down but he wasn’t home at the time and her magic caused an explosion that accidentally killed her mother.

Albus became her guardian after that. Aberforth wanted to be the one to take care of her but Albus wanted his brother to finish his education. During that time he met and became friends with Gellert Grindelwald, who was staying with his great-aunt Bathilda Bagshot for the summer in Goldric’s Hollow. They started making plans on looking the Deathly Hallows and create a world where wizards ruled over Muggles for the greater good. Aberforth tried to stop them but a fight broke out and Ariana was killed in the crossfire. Grindelwald ran off after that.

Aberforth never forgave his brother after what happened to their sister. And Dumbledore never forgave himself either.

It’s hard to believe that we’re talking about the same Albus Dumbledore, the kind, wise and powerful headmaster of Hogwarts. This just shows that no one is perfect. I mean look at James Potter, Harry’s dad. They were both arrogant and a bit selfish but they learned from their mistakes and became better men.

2. Teddy Remus Lupin: In Deathly Hallows part 1, Remus Lupin (David Thewlis) and Nymphadora Tonks (Natalia Tena) are now married and were about to make announcement until Mad Eye Moody (Brendan Gleeson) interrupted them. For those of you who were wondering what they were going to say, they were going to announce that Tonks was pregnant.

Sometime afterwards she gives birth to a boy. They named him after Tonks father, Ted Tonks, who was killed by Snatchers because he was a Muggle-born. Remus and Tonks made Harry the godfather.

After his parents died, Teddy was raised by his grandmother Andromeda Tonks with the help of Harry. Like Harry, Teddy never knew his parents but he was surrounded by family and friends and had a good childhood. He didn’t become a werewolf like his father, but he was a Metamorphmagus, like his mother.

Remus and Tonks would’ve have been proud of their son and the man he would grow up to be.

3. The Deathly Hallows: Okay they explained what the Deathly Hallows are. The Elder Wand, The Resurrection Stone, and The Cloak of Invisibility. The Elder Wand is the powerful wand ever created and they explained why it didn’t want for Voldemort, which I’m glad. But they didn’t really explain about the other two.

Remember earlier in the series that Dumbledore was slowly dying because he tried on the Horcrux ring?

Well if you look closely at the stone on the ring, it has the symbol of the Deathly Hallows. Cadmus Peverell, the second brother from the story The Tale of Three Brothers, tried to resurrected the woman he loved back from the dead but when he discovered she was only a ghost he killed himself to truly be with her. After his death, the stone was fitted into a ring and passed on to his descendents, the Gaunt Family and later to Tom Riddle Jr.

Not knowing it was a Deathly Hallow, Voldemort made the ring into a Horcrux since it was a family heirloom. When Dumbledore found the ring he realized that it contained the Resurrection Stone and put it on wanting to see his sister one last time. However, he completely forgot that the ring had a cursed on it. He would have died right than and there but Snape arrived and managed to slow the process for the time being.

And finally The Cloak of Invisibility. Ignotus Peverell, the third brother from the story The Tale of Three Brothers, used to the cloak to hide from death and it wasn’t until he was an old man that he took off the cloak and gave it to his son. The cloak was passed down through out the years until it ended up with Ignotus last known descendents, the Potters. James Potter used it in his youth back at Hogwarts. When Dumbledore recognizied it and asked James if he could borrow. After James was killed, the cloak was left in Dumbledore’s possession. Ten years later, Dumbledore gave Harry the cloak as a Christmas present anonymously, since it was rightfully his.

In the book, Harry didn’t destory The Elder Wand. He used the wand to repair his old one and put the the Elder Wand back in Dumbledore’e tomb, so if he died of natural causes, its power would finally be broken, ending it’s bloody history. The Resurrection Stone was lost somewhere in the Forbidden Forest and Harry kept The Cloak of Invisibility since it was family heirloom.

Harry is the only known master of Death and it’s not because he fights death, he accepts it. That’s the difference between him and Voldemort. Voldemort believes dying is the worst thing in the world, but there are things way worst than death. And even though Harry knew he was gonna die, he wasn’t afraid because death was part of life. Without death there is no life. No one is meant to live forever.

4. Severus Snape: For years we’ve seen Severus Snape (Alan Rickman) being all mean and hateful toward Harry, because of how Harry’s father treated him when they were kids. I admit that James was kind of a jerk to Snape but he was a kid and he grew out of it. Snape was pretty much the most hated teacher at Hogwarts, except with the Slytherin students since he was Head of Slytherin. It wasn’t until I read the last book that I learned what side Snape was really on.

Not only was I surprised that Snape really was one of the good guys, but his reason behind everything he did.

Snape hated James Potter for the a lot of reasons, but the main one was he was with Lily. Snape was in love with Harry’s mom. They used to be best friends when they were kids. Even when they were placed in different houses, him in Slytherin and Lily in Gryffindor they were still close. But did you ever wonder why they stopped being friends?

You guys remember in the fifth movie, Order of the Phoenix, where they showed the memory of James picking on Snape as a kid? Well in the book, Lily came to Snape’s rescue and defended him, but Snape was so embarrassed he called her a Mudblood. He tried to apologize afterwards but she wasn’t hearing it. It also didn’t help that he was hanging around a bad crowd and getting into the Dark Arts. That was the end of their friendship and that Snape’s Worst Memory.

Snape joined the Death Eaters and he was the one that overhear the prophecy about Voldemort’s downfall. Snape thought it meant Lily’s child so he went to Dumbledore for help, asking him to protect the Potters and in return he would be a double agent. Even after Lily died Snape looked after Harry out love for her.

I’m telling you I cried a lot during this film. I cried when Fred died and the whole Weasley family mourned for him. It was so sad.

I cried when Snape died after he got bitten by Nagini. When Snape told Harry he had his mother’s eyes before dying that really got to me.

But when they showed the memory of Snape holding Lily’s dead body, I was a goner. Plus, they added the part where you see Snape’s patronus was a silver doe and Dumbledore said “After all this time?” and Snape replied “Always”, I cried a fucking river! Seriously, I knew what was gonna happen but to actually see it, wow!

Even though the books and the movies are all done, it doesn’t feel like it.  I go on Twitter and talk to hundreds of Potterheads from around the world. On Pottermore, I’m a Ravenclaw and my wand is vine and unicorn, eleven and a half inches, slightly yielding. Hell, I even write Harry Potter fanfiction. That’s how much love I love the series. I hope to one day to visit the Wizardly World of Harry Potter in Orlando, FL.

JK Rowling said it herself that “the stories we love best do live in us forever.” Harry Potter has become a thing of legend and I’m gonna make sure I read the books to my kids someday.

Just remember this, “Hogwarts will always be there to welcome you home.”

My name is Joanna and I’m a Potterhead. Always and Until the Very End.

7 Responses to "Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows part 2: It All Ends"

Yes. Just YES. 😉

I agree with you on so many of your favourite scenes and quotes. And, quite frankly, if you don’t cry during Snape’s scene, something must be seriously wrong with you. (And I can proudly say that during the wait for the 7th book, I denied Snape’s guilt. “He’s one of the good guys, you’ll see.” I was right. And I won $5 because of that.)

My major gripe with these last two films was the lack of Remus. I love all things Lupin, so, although I cringe when he tries to abandon Tonks and the unborn bub in the book, I wish there’d been more of his storyline in the film. Heck, they could have even slipped a blue-haired teenager into the background of the 19-years-later epilogue, as a treat for the fans! I would have loved that…

Well. I should stop commenting now. Writing about HP can get dangerously out of hand. 🙂

I agree, Remus should have had more scenes. At least they could have showed the scene where Remus and Tonks asked Harry to be Teddy’s godfather. I would have been a fine with that.

Hahah! I love your comment “lovethebadguy” about crying during Snapes scene because I was watching that part on my break at work and a few Dish co-workers saw me crying. I bet they were wondering what I could be watching to make me react that way. I used the Dish Remote Access App I downloaded on my iPhone to watch Part 2, along with the Sling Adapter I have at home. I get the live or recorded programming through the internet from my DVR. It’s sweet because I watch more TV than I otherwise would have before.

You could certainly see your enthusiasm in the work you write. The sector hopes for even more passionate writers like you who aren’t afraid to say how they believe. Always go after your heart.

I love what you wrote, it’s just so emotional and it makes teardrops croll down my face just by reading it… I still can’t believe the movies are over… But as they say –> Hogwarts will always be there to welcome you home! So I can just read and re-read the books over and over to myself, and my kids when I’ll have some ╱Ⓘ╲
———

Anna

╱Ⓘ╲
——–

Love your views on HP, such a wonderful story and you really got to the root of why fans are so obsessed!

Leave a Reply

  • Matthew: My 13 year old daughter was banging on about how brilliant this new show was so to humor her I watched the pilot. I'm now completely hooked - so wheth
  • the vow movie full: Appreciating the hard work you put into your website and in depth information you provide. It's nice to come across a blog every once in a while t
  • Tammy: I loved that movie! I was a little frustrated with paige after she kissed jeramy. Leo loved her so much that he was willing to let her go. I'm glad sh

Categories

