sweetsantuary

Underworld: Awakening

Posted on: June 8, 2012

Underworld is one of my favorite trilogy movies ever. When I heard they were making a fourth movie I was like fuck yeah! My boyfriend and I live for the Underworld series. In fact, my boyfriend’s name just happens to be Lucian, the same name of the lycan leader from the first movie. What are the odds, right?

Basically the movie takes place six months after the events of Underworld Evolution. Somehow the humans have become aware of the existence of the war between the vampires and lycans (werewolves), so the military began exterminating them. This event would be known as “The Cleansing”. Selene (Kate Beckinsale), a Death Dealer (vampire soldier) and her lover Michael Corvin (Scott Speedman), a Hybrid (half vampire, half lycan) try to escape but were captured.

Twelve years later, the huamn government has annihilated 95% of  the vampire race, and the Lycans appear to be extinct. Selene, dubbed “Subject 1” is freed from cryogenic suspension by “Subject 2” and escapes the medical corporation, Antigen.

I loved the part where Selene slit the throat of all the guards with the scalpel. No one knows how to kill people better than her.

When she goes looking for Subject 2, believing it’s Michael, she gets a big surprise when she discover it’s a young girl (India Eisley) named Eve. Eve turns out to be a Hybrid and the daughter of Selene and Michael.

This movie was awesome and I liked some of the new characters. Eve really took after her parents, especially her father. I loved the part where she savagely ripped the throat off that one Lycan. I mean, she torn the whole fucking thing. Daddy’s little girl.

There’s also David (Theo James), a vampire. He’s one of the last surviving vampires that’s been hiding all this time. While David was welcoming to Selene and Eve, believing they could help his kind fight back his father, coven leader Thomas (Charles Dance), thought they were nothing but trouble.

Okay, I never thought I would say this but I wish Viktor was still alive. Thomas was a complete pussy! I mean, his whole solution to everything was run and hide. Viktor may have been an evil, manipulating, son of a bitch, but I will say this about the guy. He wasn’t a coward. When shit went down he fought like a motherfucker. If Viktor were alive and saw what the vampires of today were like, he would have bitch slapped the shit out of all of them.

At least David was nothing like father. He wasn’t afraid to fight for what he believed in.

I’m glad they didn’t kill off Detective Sebastian (Michael Ealy), the human helping them. Sebastian was actually sympathetic toward Selene and her kind. Turns out that Sebastian was married to vampire. When the Cleansing happened, Sebastian’s wife exposed herself to the sunlight rather than suffer at the hands of the humans.

Then there’s the bad guys. Dr. Jacob Lane (Stephen Rea), director of Antigen, turned out to be a lycan along with his son, Quint (Kris Holden-Ried). They weren’t finding a “cure”, they were working on a drug to make lycans immune to sliver and enchane their strength. I knew there was something off about that guy. In the trailer when Lane said “your kind will never be more powerful than us” I got this really funny feeling. The way he said it, like he wasn’t…human. When they revealed that Lane and the rest of the staff of Antigen were lycans, I jumped out of my chair and screamed “I KNEW IT!!”

I remember my boyfriend and I were at the panel for this at Comic Con last year. It was amazing meeting other fans who loved the series just as much as we do.

Even though the movie was great, my only problem is that they didn’t show Michael at all in this film. They had a double stand in for him. When they make Underworld 5, they better show Michael otherwise I’m gonna be super piss.

3 Responses to "Underworld: Awakening"

Honestly, after the first one the other got worse and worse. The last one was too painful to watch; cliche, made up fantastic description of both vampires and lycans alike, cheap dialogue, and a child who wants to be more than her more ever was. Seems like Selene knows how to pick them, first her boyfriend and now her child – one mash-up DNA after another. Her personal life seems more like a laboratory experiment.

I see where you’re coming from. I have to admit I was a little confused about their daughter and stuff. I mean, it’s clear Selene was shock to have a daughter, clearly she didn’t know she was pregnant when she was captured at the time. But I still manage to enjoy it overall. I pick this over watching sparkling vampires any day.

Well yeah, I’m sick and tired of the self-induced tormented vamp

Leave a Reply

  • Matthew: My 13 year old daughter was banging on about how brilliant this new show was so to humor her I watched the pilot. I'm now completely hooked - so wheth
  • the vow movie full: Appreciating the hard work you put into your website and in depth information you provide. It's nice to come across a blog every once in a while t
  • Tammy: I loved that movie! I was a little frustrated with paige after she kissed jeramy. Leo loved her so much that he was willing to let her go. I'm glad sh

Categories

