sweetsantuary

The Vow

Posted on: June 13, 2012

This made my list of favorite romantic movies ever.

It’s about this married couple Paige (Rachel McAdams) and Leo (Channing Tatum) who end up in a car accident one night while leaving the movie theater. Paige didn’t have her seatbelt on and she crashed through the windshield. Both of them are rushed to the hospital. When Paige wakes up she doesn’t know who Leo is, having lost her memory of the last few years.

Paige’s parents show up, Bill (Sam Neill) and Rita Thornton (Jessica Lange), when found out what happened and they come to take her home. This is the first time Leo has met Paige’s parents. Paige is confused about a lot of things. Like, why she left law school, why she broke off her engagement with her previous finance, Jeremy (Scott Speedman), and why she didn’t keep in touch with her family. After some thinking Paige decides to go with Leo to see if she can regain her lost memory.

The thing I like most about this movie was that it was based off true events. Kris and Krickitt Carpenter, wrote a book about their marriage, also called The Vow. Ten weeks after their wedding they got into a car accident, where Krickitt suffered brain trauma, which erased her memories of Kris and their marriage. Kris still loved his wife, but Krickitt saw him as a stranger after the accident. Krickitt didn’t get her memories back but they’re still married and have two kids. That’s love right there.

I felt bad for Leo. I know he was trying to help Paige remember but he was trying too hard. You can’t shove all this information down her throat and expect everything to be okay. This kind of thing takes time.

At least Leo didn’t manipulate Paige into being with him. When you find why Paige alienated herself from her family all those years, you can’t help but be disgusted by their actions.  They were trying to turn her into the Paige they remember, not the Paige now.  I think it’s unbelievable they had to wait for their daugther to be in a car accident for them to reconcile with her, when they could have done it at any time. But they started to accept the real Paige when she decides to drop out of law school and start studying art again.

I love seeing the flashbacks, where it showed how Leo and Paige start met and how they fell in love. My favorite scene was when they exchanged wedding vows.

Paige: “I vow to help you love life, to always hold you with tenderness and to have the patience that love demands, to speak when words are needed and to share the silence when they are not and to live within the warmth of your heart and always call it home.”

Leo: “I vow to fiercely love you in all your forms, now and forever. I promise to never forget that this is a once in a lifetime love.”

A lot of people didn’t like the ending, but I thought it was good.  The ending was more reality and not chessy, where they have the man and woman run toward each other in the snow,  and have them kiss and all of a sudden  she remembers everything and then they kiss some more and play some love song in the background while it fades to black and they roll the credits.

I would like to remind people that both the film and the book are based off true events! This isn’t 50 First Dates, where Adam Sandler tries to make Drew Barrymore fall in love with him everyday in a weird comical way.

I like the part when Leo said that life is all about moments of impact and how they change our lives forever. That is so true. I think love is the biggest impact of them all, it hits you without warning.

7 Responses to "The Vow"

I’ll watch as soon as I can. Going back to her love and her parents, tow things strike me. One, is how much love they seem to have between them, even though Paige doesn’t remember a thing. Second, her parent, now that’s something that’s happened to us all without the amnesia bit, they always seem to want you for who they think the ideal child should be, but rarely accept you for who you truly are and you’re never gonna change. That’s the struggle I live with everyday of my life, and the pain has made me wish I had amnesia, so I would never remember these people and the pain they caused me. Thank you for sharing.

This is the best romantic movie i’ve ever seen. Love is just beautiful. Not even Titanic made me cry like this… #Sigh. I think it’s hitting the top list of my favourate movies!

It made this grown man cry! I didn’t like the ending…but I also understood why it was done that way…she never regained her memory yet they both found their way back to each other and along the way the wounds of the past were healed in regards to her family…a second chance. What I liked about the movie was it showed Leo as human as any man could be in that position…I could really feel this characters emotions through my own experiences with my wife.

I loved that movie! I was a little frustrated with paige after she kissed jeramy. Leo loved her so much that he was willing to let her go. I’m glad she came back to him on her own. He deserved to get an happy ending. Her parents were jerks but i can’t say that they were really wrong. They just wanted their daughter back. I kinda was getting sad after paige and leo broke up because i thought he was going to start dating his friend and paige was going to go back with jeramy. I’m glad it didn’t go like that.

Appreciating the hard work you put into your website and in
depth information you provide. It’s nice to come across a
blog every once in a while that isn’t the same unwanted rehashed material.
Fantastic read! I’ve bookmarked your site and I’m including your RSS
feeds to my Google account.

Leave a Reply

  • Matthew: My 13 year old daughter was banging on about how brilliant this new show was so to humor her I watched the pilot. I'm now completely hooked - so wheth
  • the vow movie full: Appreciating the hard work you put into your website and in depth information you provide. It's nice to come across a blog every once in a while t
  • Tammy: I loved that movie! I was a little frustrated with paige after she kissed jeramy. Leo loved her so much that he was willing to let her go. I'm glad sh

Categories

