sweetsantuary

The Muppets

Posted on: June 14, 2012

“It’s time to play the music. It’s time to light the light. It’s time to meet the Muppets on the Muppet Show tonight.”

Who doesn’t know that song?

No matter what generation you are from, people know about the Muppets. I was a huge fan back in the day. I watched anything Muppet related, including the TV special where the Muppets went to Disney World (1990). The Muppet Babies were one of my favorite cartoons when I was a kid. I’ve seen all the movies. The Muppet Movie (1979), The Great Muppet Caper (1981), The Muppets Take Manhattan (1984), Muppet Treasure Island (1996), etc.

Last year when I heard they were going to make a Muppet movie for the big screen I had to be there. It was my first time to watch a Muppet movie in theaters.

The movie is about a Muppet named Walter, who is a hardcore Muppet fan. Walter, along with his human brother Gary (Jason Segel) and Gary’s girlfriend, Mary (Amy Adams) go to Los Angeles to visit the Muppet Studios. Unfortunately, the studios is pretty much a dump now. Walter overhears Statler and Waldorf selling the theater to Tex Richman, an oil magnate, who wants to tear the place down because there’s oil underneath the theater. But if the Muppets can raise $10 million they can save it.

So, Walter, Gary and Mary set off to find Kermit the Frog and together they try to get the gang back together.

I thought it was funny seeing what the other Muppets have been doing all this time. Fozzie Bear is performing in Reno with the Moppets, a group of uncouth Muppet impersonators. Gonza has become a plumbing magnate. Animal is in a celebrity anger-management clinic with Jack Black as his sponsor. You see also Dr. Teeth and the Electric Mayhem perform in a subway. Scooter working for Google, etc. They got pretty much everyone, except for Miss Piggy. She’s editor of this fashion magazine in Paris. Apparently she and Kermit had a falling out a few years back. But in the end she joins the team again to put on a show.

It was great seeing the Muppets do their thing. Have a big adventure and break out into song and dance like the old days. Jason Segel was actaully one of the writters for the film.

I like the new Muppet, Walter. He was funny. Plus, we could use a couple of new faces.

I think it’s great that Gary wants to look out for his brother, but he had to let him grow up. Walter belonged with the other Muppets. Not to mention his devotion to Walter was getting in the way of his relationship with his girlfriend.

The trip was origially meant to celebrate Gary and Mary’s tenth anniversary but Gary had Walter tag along. Mary wants it to be just the two of them.

Same thing with Kermit and Piggy.

Miss Piggy may be a diva but she loves that frog. But it’s always been them and the other Muppets. If there’s one thing Piggy loves more than fame is Kermit. And I know if Kermit asked her to give up everything so they could be together she would do it in a heartbeat.

Yeah, seeing this movie will make you feel like a kid again.

4 Responses to "The Muppets"

Such a sweet return for the Muppets. Check out my review!

This is such an excellent resource that you’re offering and you offer out at no cost. I appreciate seeing websites that realize the worth of offering a perfect helpful resource totally totally free. I genuinely loved reading your submit. 719256

I simply want to say I am very new to blogging and site-building and actually enjoyed your web-site. Very likely I’m want to bookmark your blog post . You certainly come with fabulous stories. Thanks for sharing your web-site.

I simply want to say I am just very new to blogging and really savored your web-site. More than likely I’m planning to bookmark your blog . You actually have fantastic article content. With thanks for revealing your webpage.

Leave a Reply

  • Matthew: My 13 year old daughter was banging on about how brilliant this new show was so to humor her I watched the pilot. I'm now completely hooked - so wheth
  • the vow movie full: Appreciating the hard work you put into your website and in depth information you provide. It's nice to come across a blog every once in a while t
  • Tammy: I loved that movie! I was a little frustrated with paige after she kissed jeramy. Leo loved her so much that he was willing to let her go. I'm glad sh

Categories

